Dietary Preferences

To make sure you can enjoy our chocolate worry-free, we’ve done our best to accommodate most diets. Whether you follow a vegan or gluten-free diet, or you're just looking to cut down on sugar, read on to make sure you’re staying healthy and happy when you enjoy our chocolate.

Cocoa beans.

Alcohol-free

The majority of our Lindt chocolate products are completely alcohol-free. Very few contain alcohol or alcoholic liqueurs. Check the nutritional label on our packaging for a complete list of ingredients. 

Dairy-free

Our Lindt EXCELLENCE 70%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99% and 100% Cacao bars do not have dairy added as an ingredient. However, these are manufactured in the same facilities that process products containing dairy.

Many of our creations at Lindt, such as our milk and white chocolate products, contain skim milk powder, whole milk powder and other dairy ingredients.

We take every precaution to ensure your safety by having an allergen control program in place and adhering to Good Manufacturing Practices. Due to the risk of cross-contamination, however, we cannot guarantee that our products are 100% allergen-safe and label all of our packaging ‘may contain milk’.

We are working on making our chocolate accessible to everyone, but don’t currently recommend our products to people with severe lactose intolerance or milk allergies.

Dairy-free chocolate squares.
Open cocoa pod.

Soy-free

At this point, our regular dark chocolate, milk and white chocolate products all contain soy lecithin. All our soy lecithin is derived from non-GMO soy beans and is certified according to Proterra rules and Cert-ID in line with EU regulations.

But don’t worry! Our Lindt EXCELLENCE 70%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99% and 100% Cacao bars do not contain added soy lecithin.

Our soy products are monitored by an allergen control program and made in adherence to strict Good Manufacturing Practices. However, to alert our most sensitive customers to the potential of cross-contamination, all our products are labelled with ‘may contain soy’.  Please always check the nutritional label for a complete list of ingredients.

Vegetarian

We are happy to report that all of our chocolates – including our LINDOR and Lindt EXCELLENCE products – are suitable for vegetarians! 

However, some of our chocolates do use animal products but these are limited to milk, milk products, milk fat, cream, shellac and, on occasion, eggs. See the nutritional label on our packaging for a complete list of ingredients.

Selection of the finest ingredients.
Chocolate and cocoa beans.

Vegan-friendly

We offer a selection of chocolates that do not contain any added animal products as an ingredient and may accommodate a vegan lifestyle. As a precaution, however, these products are also labelled with ‘may contain milk’ since they are manufactured in a facility that processes dairy.

Browse our Lindt EXCELLENCE 70%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99% and 100% Cacao bars for vegan-friendly options. See the nutritional label on our packaging for a complete list of ingredients.

Nut-free

While we do offer chocolate bars that do not contain nuts, we cannot guarantee that our Lindt products are 100% nut-allergen safe.

All our manufacturing facilities produce chocolates that contain tree nuts – like our pralinés, for example. So, traces of almond, hazelnut, pistachio, macadamia, cashew or pecan could be present in our products.  We also store our packaged chocolates alongside peanut-containing products in Canada.

To do our part in keeping you safe, all of our packaging is labelled with "may contain tree nuts" and "may contain peanuts". Though Lindt incorporates the most thorough cleaning processes, minute traces may cross-contaminate other products within the factory. Although we want our products to be enjoyed by everyone and are working towards that goal, we currently cannot guarantee nut-free products.

Bowls of ingredients.
Cocoa bean with chocolate bar.

Gluten-free

For consumers who are sensitive to gluten, we offer certain premium high cocoa options that are manufactured without cereal or barley malt, which may be suitable for consumers with such dietary restrictions. These offerings include our Lindt EXCELLENCE 70%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99% and 100% Cacao bars.

Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that Lindt & Sprüngli produces; either as a cereal ingredient or as a barley component. Please always check the nutritional label on our packaging for more information and a complete list of ingredients.

Reduced sugar

For less sugary alternatives, try our reduced-sugar options. Our Lindt EXCELLENCE 85% Cacao bar only contains 4 grams of sugar per 30g serving and our Excellence 90% bar brings the sugar content down to as low as 2 grams. But our Lindt EXCELLENCE 99% and 100% Cacao bars have the least sugar of all with just 1 gram per 32g serving. We also offer a special ‘No Added Sugar’ tablet, available in milk and dark chocolate, which fully substitutes white sugar with Maltitol.

Excellence higher cocoa bars.

Best Sellers