Candied Orange Peels

These candied orange peels are a refined treat you can dip in chocolate or enjoy as is.

55 minutes
10 people

Method

Step 1.

Cut a ¼-inch slice off the top and bottom off each orange. Score along the sides of each orange to create 4 equal segments. Carefully peel off each segment of the peel. Cut each segment into ¼-inch wide strips. Repeat with the remaining two oranges.

Step 2.

Place sliced orange peel into a medium sized pot. Cover with cold water and bring to a boil. Let peel cook for 15 minutes. Drain water and rinse peel. Place peel back into pot, cover again with cold water and repeat the process, cooking for an additional 15 minutes.

Step 3.

Fill a medium pot with 2 cups (500 mL) sugar and 3 cups (750 mL) water. Bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve sugar. Reduce sugar syrup to a simmer and add rinsed orange peel. Simmer peel in syrup until the syrup is thick and there are lots of bubbles, about 30 - 40 minutes. Peel should have a thick coating of syrup on it.

Step 4.

Remove peel from syrup with a slotted spoon and place on a wire rack to dry out. This will take at least 4 hours and up to overnight.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Candied Orange Peels
Your Rating
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite

Écorces d’orange confites

Une douceur raffinée que vous pouvez tremper dans le chocolat ou savourer seule.

55 minutes
10 people

Méthode

Step 1.

Retirer une tranche de 6 cm (¼ po) sur le dessus et le dessous de l’orange. Couper l’orange en 4 gros quartiers, puis les peler délicatement. Couper chaque pelure prélevée en bandelettes de 6 cm (¼ po). Procéder de la même manière avec les 2 autres oranges.

Step 2.

Dans une casserole moyenne, placer les bandelettes d’écorces d’orange, les recouvrir d’eau froide, porter à ébullition et laisser cuire 15 minutes. Égoutter et rincer les écorces. Les remettre dans la casserole, recouvrir d’eau froide et répéter l’opération en cuisant 15 minutes supplémentaires.

Step 3.

Dans une autre casserole, déposer le sucre et 750 ml (3 tasses) d’eau. Porter à ébullition, en remuant pour faire dissoudre le sucre. Baisser le feu et laisser frémir avant d’ajouter les écorces d’orange rincées. Les laisser mijoter jusqu’à épaississement du sirop et gros bouillonnement, environ 30-40 minutes. Les écorces devraient être recouvertes d’une épaisse couche de sirop.

Step 4.

À l’aide d’une écumoire, retirer les écorces confites de la casserole, puis les déposer sur une grille pour les laisser sécher 4 heures ou toute la nuit.

Commentaires

Rédigez votre propre commentaire
Vous commentez : Écorces d’orange confites
Votre notation
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite